page-template-default,page,page-id-2667,bridge-core-2.7.8,unknown,wp-accessibility-helper,wah_fstype_script,accessibility-location-right,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-26.3,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive



Advocacy is an important focus area for the NEJO.


Member Council’s have established the following priority areas of advocacy:


  • Water security
  • Agriculture and Innovation
  • Road, freight and transport
  • Rail and intermodal hubs
  • Telecommunications
  • Renewable energy
  • Health services
  • Youth training and employment
  • Airport slots at Mascot for regional airlines


Representations on behalf of member councils on positions of advocacy and leadership to the NSW Government and Australian Government are made throughout the year.


In addition, NEJO is an active participant in the Executive Officer and JO Chairpersons Networks for Joint Organisations of Councils in NSW.


From left: NEJO Chairman Michael Pearce, Executive Officer Brooke Southwell, Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation The Hon Kevin Anderson.